If you’re lucky now

I hold tight to the summer’s magical moments. Laughing with my mom and my sister on the lawn of the Hotel Del Coronado as we try for a perfect sunset selfie. Sitting under the stars at the Greek Theater with friends at a Ryan Adams concert. Floating in the pool with my son. Driving to Manhattan Beach at dusk with my nephew’s surfboard on the roof of the car, holding our breath for fear it will fly away.

I am a lucky girl, my memories like bright shiny beads in the palm of my hand. I string them together, wear them close to my heart, where they remind me of the things that matter. Family. Friends. Laughter and love. We have just a week left here before we fly home and I want to hold on to these moments, let them carry me through the seasons until summer finds us again.

Tonight I sat with friends and talked about music and politics and family and high school and I thought about how amazing it is that this is my life. I have so much to be grateful for, so much to cherish. I am reminded every day of my limitations, of the things that are hard for me post-surgery, and yet, I am here, in this place that I love, surrounded by people who love me. And there is nothing else that I need.

It’s heartbreaking, in a way. The beauty of it all. To know that a moment in time is so precious, so perfect, that it will never be that again. And yet, just holding it is somehow enough. So much of life is spent chasing things and looking for things and dreaming of things — I want to take a breath, to pause and reach for the magic, to hold tight as the echoes of laughter and shadows of light slip away.

In the end, it’s all we have. But it’s somehow exactly right, isn’t it?

And the lights will draw you in
And the dark will take you down
The night will break your heart
But only if you’re lucky now

~Ryan Adams

2 thoughts on “If you’re lucky now

  1. Wow.
    Read…enjoyed it so much I re-read. The lightheartedness ..the beauty..the soft and gentle words of your summer soothed my soul. Reminder that our health and happiness are everything–and of course that happiness is simply a synonym for people in our lives. Loved hearing the joy in your words Kristen. Beautiful. May this euphoria you have experienced stay with you always.
    ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Because you have the words to express it and because you have the heart to treasure it, THAT will keep you safe in the now AND in the then. But even more important, stay tuned to the future where the old memories live and the new memories are about to happen. And then there’s this from another musical muse, our son’s namesake:
    In my hour of darkness, in my time of need
    Oh Lord, grant me vision oh, Lord grant me speed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

