Quiet, but good

I haven’t written here in a while. No reason, really. One of those life-gets-in-the-way kind of things. I miss my mother-in-law every day. Seriously. Every. Single. Day. I feel a little adrift here in our neck of the woods, kind of like a kid whose parents have gone on vacation. I know I’m not the kid anymore; I am, in fact, the parent. But still it feels a little lonely and strange. With my own mother so far away, an entire generation is missing.

I am keeping busy with work, and trying to stay on top of my healthcare. I’m doing mostly okay on the aromasin, a little curious to see what changes — if any — I’ll feel with the lupron out of my system (weaning off of it pretty much started this week). I can re-do my bloodwork at the end of April, and if everything looks as it should, I may be off the lupron shots for good. One less med is always a good thing. I’ve also been working on cleaning up my diet. I’m completely off sugar and processed foods, and I feel like it’s a step in the right direction. The more research I do, the more I am convinced that diet and disease are connected. And if eating smart is going to give me one more tiny edge over a recurrence, then it’s worth sacrificing the chocolate chip cookies and potato chips.

In other news, I’m taking my son to LA for a few days during his spring break. I miss my mom a lot, and so we are breaking with tradition and flying out mid-year for a quick visit. We also booked our tickets for summer so we’ll be back in LA at the end of June for about 8 weeks.

And that’s where we stand. Nothing here to complain about (I am, in fact, writing this post on my brand-spanking-new macbook pro and loving everything about it). Life is good. Quiet, but good. I really couldn’t ask for more.

4 thoughts on “Quiet, but good

  1. I’m so happy to read that all is quiet, even as you mourn your mother-in-law. And I’m glad you’re breaking tradition to see your mother! Here’s to sun and family and more quiet but good.

    Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

