Amazing grace

The morning of December 31, 2014. Exactly one year ago, I was wrapped in a pink hospital gown, open to the front, waiting nervously for my 3rd biopsy. It’s almost impossible to think an entire year has passed. But time is persistent. It really doesn’t give a hoot whether you are ready to move on or not. It just does its thing, it just goes.

I’ve written a lot about how I’ve changed over the last year. And I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I think so much of that change has been a blessing. I’m talking now about the changes you can’t see, but you can feel. The kind of changes that put so much of life’s hardships and drudgery into perspective. Life’s beauty and gifts, too.

We had the most wonderful Christmas. It was really nothing special, nothing far from the ordinary, but it felt meaningful. It felt like we were putting a lid on the box and tonight we will tape it shut. We’ll write “2015 Do Not Open” in black marker on the outside, and we will put that box on the curb. It’s been a “ruff” year, as my son likes to say. But tomorrow we begin again. And that is truly a gift.

Happy New Year, my friends. May the coming year bring you grace and light, and fill your hearts with joy.

3 thoughts on “Amazing grace

Leave a Reply

