Home, again

I’ve been back from Colorado for a few days and I’m relaxed, happy and so incredibly grateful for the time away and this place I’ve come home to. There’s something restorative about a short trip, a brief getaway. I don’t have the heavy jet lagged feeling I get when we come home from California; there’s been no recovery time, no insomnia, no exhaustion. I simply feel good, energized, and ready to move forward into the holidays.

We don’t have much in the way of plans for the long weekend. I’m hosting Thanksgiving dinner, and Friday, Saturday and Sunday the plan is to stay local and away from retail stores of any kind. Maybe we’ll take in a movie? I want to keep things simple this Christmas. None of us need anything. I’d love to find small but meaningful gifts for my family and friends, and spend some time out and about, socializing, and living. Last Christmas was so weighted with cancer and worry and fear. I plan to take up every invitation I passed on in 2014. I am reclaiming my life.

And on that note, I want to say I am eternally grateful for your love and support. This last year would have done me in, my boys, my family, if it weren’t for the encouragement and grace of all of you.

Happy Thanksgiving my friends, I hope you will be spending the day with the ones you love and the ones who make you laugh because life is too short, too fragile to settle for anything less.

Peace.

4 thoughts on “Home, again

Leave a Reply

