There’s no TGIF in Friday afternoon

Friday afternoon we got a call from a friend who had just heard some unsettling news from radiology. Her mammogram was suspicious, there was a lump. The only thing they know for sure is that the lump is not a cyst. But this is not the part of the story I want to focus on. The part I want to focus on is Friday afternoon.

Really? What is it with these doctors and labs? Why do they think it’s okay to give a woman news like this, news that a biopsy needs to be scheduled, news that is at best disturbing and at worst simply terrifying on a Friday afternoon? You might remember my Friday afternoon story. It was the post that started this blog, the first one I wrote about my diagnosis. I will never forget the fear or the anger I felt. Certainly, it could have waited until Monday, until I had access to my doctor and more information and the ability to move through a checklist of next steps.

When we are given news like this, we think that time is of the essence. It’s how our brains work. So having an entire weekend stand between us and any kind of medical care or action is unbearable. But cancer isn’t like a heart attack or a stroke. Its timeline operates on a different schedule. I got my diagnosis on Friday, December 5, 2014. My surgery wasn’t until February. My cancer was invasive, but it wasn’t a forest fire.

But that was my story.

I don’t know what our friend’s story will be. It is still unwritten. I’m really not one to pray, so I told our friend this: I feel your pain, your anxiety, your fear. And I will send as much good energy as I possibly can out into the universe and up to the heavens for you this weekend. Because right now, if I could change one thing about the way doctors deliver bad news, I would call for an end to Friday afternoon.

It’s just unnecessarily cruel.

5 thoughts on “There’s no TGIF in Friday afternoon

  1. I personally prefer to get the news ASAP whether it is Friday, Christmas, whatever. Perhaps the doctors’ offices should ask people as to when they should and should not get news.

    My brother got the bad news about his pancreatic tumor on a Friday afternoon, relayed it to me and my other brother that evening. I spent Saturday morning in a university library and called everyone I knew who might be able to help. Mid afternoon Saturday, my brother was talking to a doctor in his area that I had contacted, and had a Monday morning appointment, and tests that week that made up the foundation of his treatment. We are all grateful we were given the news as soon as it was available.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cath, I’m so sorry to hear about your brother — and yes, your story is one that definitely shows the other side of this. How great that you were able to quickly move into action and get a plan in place over the weekend. All the best, k

      Like

  2. Bad news sucks no matter when you get it. Doctors can sure use a lesson in seeing their patients as whole human beings with a heart and soul, instead of just a case. Maybe then then they will improve their timing.

    Like

  3. That sounds like a sensible proposal, and I wonder if it could possibly be worked into an improvement initiative. Why do we even need to suggest these things? What the hell?

    Like

Leave a Reply

