Update

It’s been about three weeks since my nipple surgery and, I’m still a little frustrated by how long it’s taking for my nipples to heal — or simply heal enough to see progress. I’ll spare you the somewhat gross details, and simply say there’s been a lot of bleeding and goo. I made an appointment to see the physician’s assistant in Dr. F’s office on Monday because I was worried about an infection. She pulled a few more stitches and gave me a new wound care routine to follow. The fact that Dr. F was so laid back about using dressings or not using dressings, wearing a bra or not wearing a bra, tells me he was anticipating a quicker turnaround on the healing process. I wasn’t scheduled to see Dr. F again until mid-October, but the PA asked me to come back on the 30th so he could take a look and see how things are progressing.

It’s silly to say I wasn’t anticipating this, but I wasn’t. I’m not in any pain, but I’m concerned that I’m not healing properly and I can’t figure out why. Maybe it just takes more time, maybe my original incisions healed similarly — but I don’t remember it being like this. My number one fear is that I will end up with nipples I can’t stand to look at. Honestly, that was pretty much my fear all along. I hate wondering if I should have left well-enough alone.

Anyway, fingers crossed this turns around soon.

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. Oh Kristen, my fingers are crossed for you. I’m in a totally different situation recovering from something completely different, but I feel similarly. It’s not going how I’d hoped/expected and I have that same worry: Should I have left well-enough alone? Of course, that isn’t a useful question at all, is it? Because it’s done. I’m trying to remember that and stay positive and be patient. But jeez.

    I hope everything turns around very soon and you heal completely. xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Kristen, my fingers are crossed for you. I’m in a totally different situation recovering from something completely different, but I feel similarly. It’s not going how I’d hoped/expected and I have that same worry: Should I have left well-enough alone? Of course, that isn’t a useful question at all, is it? Because it’s done. I’m trying to remember that and stay positive and be patient. But jeez.

    I hope everything turns around very soon and you heal completely. xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

