California dreaming

Just three more days. Or two-and-a-half, if you want to be precise. It seems almost impossible to believe that we will be in sunny So Cal Wednesday night. The last couple of years we’ve switched from flying American into LAX and opted for Jet Blue into Burbank. I am so in love with the smaller airport, but most of all, I am in love with stepping off the plane and onto the tarmac. After 5+ hours in a tin can, there’s nothing like that immediate hit of fresh air.

I feel pretty good post Lupron injection. Just about the only real side effect I’ve seen in the last few days is insomnia. I seriously can’t sleep. I don’t know if it’s the drug, or maybe a little underlying stress, or maybe just anticipation, but I’m hoping it will pass soon. Tomorrow morning I am going for a bone density test and then I plan to put all of this out of my mind for the next month. I cannot — will not — spend our time in LA worrying about cancer.

My son is beside himself with excitement and his must-do list is growing by the day. He’s been texting his uncle to request outings and adventures. Maybe because I’ve warned him that I may not be able to keep up with him this summer? Of course, I’m just talking. The truth is, I’ll do whatever he wants. This winter was extremely hard on him and when I think of all the ways he has stepped up and helped out, I want to go out of my way to sweeten his summer.

James has been doing well, but the insulin thing is a bit of a puzzle. He’s still working on tweaking the dosage and the diet and getting everything to line up nicely. His blood sugar dropped too low for a few days, so he pulled back on the insulin. We’ve both been too afraid to say it out loud, but wouldn’t it be amazing if he ends up needing a lot less insulin? It’s still a bit of a mystery.

I hope for the time we are together in California that we can put all this medical stuff aside and simply enjoy our family vacation — because lord knows it will demand attention as soon as our return flights touch the ground at JFK. James and I are both coming home to more appointments and tests and procedures. For the 10 days that James is with us, and the four weeks that my son and I are on our own, I want nothing less than California dreaming.

Everything else will have to wait.

7 thoughts on “California dreaming

  1. I am so excited for you and your family that your are able to come out to the West Coast and get lavished
    with love , rest and sunshine. I am certain that your mother is busy making her house even more beautiful
    for your arrival. Enjoy your time in Glendale, and remember the “Angels ” up in Morro Bay are still doing
    the Rosary and praying for you, and now James.

    Love,

    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t be happier that you are getting to go this summer! Take that beautiful time to rest, get some sun, and feel yourself. I bet you’ll start sleeping once you get settled there. xoxo

    Like

  3. So excited! But, um, you might want to rethink that ‘fresh air’ comment. It’s been ridiculously HUMID here these past few days. What is THAT about?

    When are you guys going up Avila/SLO way, btw?

    Like

Leave a Reply

