Post-surgery update

I don’t have much energy to write, but I wanted to give you a little post surgery report. Recovery is a little rough. I think I was so focused on the actual surgery that I didn’t give much thought at all to the aftermath. I just wasn’t processing what it would be like. But then how can you ever know what it will be like.

The surgery took about 12 hours on Tuesday. I really don’t remember anything, being taken into the operating room or woken up after it was over. I remember James and my mom standing over the bed and telling me that the initial report on the lymph nodes came back negative — which is incredibly good news. I wasn’t nauseous or sick from the anesthesia, in fact, I think my anesthesiologist is a god. Kind, thoughtful, encouraging from the moment he walked in the room. And considering I was only aware of his presence for about 10 minutes, but he spent the entire day with me monitoring my vital signs and keeping me alive — well, I know now why my surgeons were so happy to get me scheduled with this team.

My sweet nurse friend came right over today, about an hour after I got home, to check my drains and make sure I had the right kind of comfy muumuu to wear. Until the six drains come out, I really can’t have anything around my waist, and I wasn’t prepared for that.

I promise to write more over the weekend, but in the meantime, thank you for all the warm wishes and notes of encouragement.

13 thoughts on “Post-surgery update

  1. You are amazing. Thank you for thinking of all of us thinking of you. Relieved on many levels. Check off the boxes day by day and keep moving towards the other side of this. Love, Michele

    Like

  2. YOU ARE AMAZING! Yes! It’s true! I love that you had that great team, and that you are home, resting, with people who love you doting, checking in, taking care. I’m so glad about the lymph nodes!!! I’m thinking of you so much! And sending love, prayers, blessings. xxxxx

    Like

  3. I’m so glad that you are done with the surgery and amazed that you’d take the time to update. I’ll be thinking of your, wishing you a speedy recovery and healing from all of this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

