Surgery: A new date

It’s not at all what I wanted to hear. Not exactly what I think of as “moving mountains.” But it’s done, and there’s nothing to do now but wait it out. My surgery has been rescheduled for February 10th.

The call came at about 10:30 this morning from the patient coordinator in Dr. F’s office. “I did the best I could,” she said. “I’ve been on the phone for over two hours with the hospital, and I bumped three other patients. I’m so sorry. I know it’s not what you expected.”

And it’s not. I really thought I would get a date next week. But I understand how many people have to be in sync for this, that it’s not just my doctors — who were willing to operate on a Saturday — but the hospital staff, pathology, nuclear medicine. It’s a lot.

My mom is in town through February 21st, and while we timed her arrival and departure so that she would be here through my surgery and the worst of my recovery, now it’s more likely that the balance of my recovery will be without her. It’s frustrating, but it’s not the worst thing, I know I’ll be okay.

Thank you again for the kind words, support and prayers. I truly feel blessed.

Note: My mother wants me to make it clear that she will stay in town as long as she’s needed. But we knew that. 

8 thoughts on “Surgery: A new date

  1. I’m sorry you have to keep waiting. I’m glad that your mother is there and you get this unexpected time with her, even it is not the way you planned it. Much love to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My heart broke for you to hear of the delay. Surgery postponement is not something I have experienced and I find reading your words something to sort of “be grateful for” today. You see I understand completely why you are hesitant to go out in public as I sit here consuming antibiotics and having missed my latest treatment due to low grade fever. I pray for peace over your heart as you wait.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

