Bright shiny beads

The boy is home sick, which makes this a strange day. At 13, he really doesn’t miss much school. He is learning to deal with his colds and his minor ailments like a man (god help us) and though there is often a bit of drama, he’s pretty good about simply going about his business. But today is different. My sister and my nephew arrived from LA last night for a much anticipated long weekend in the city. My 12-year-old nephew has never been to NY and the boys have been so excited to have this time together on my son’s turf. I’m hoping a day of rest will make a difference for my boy, get him over the worst of this nasty coughing sneezing dripping mess.

So, yes, that makes this a strange day. We still haven’t told him about my diagnosis. The plan is to wait until we have a plan. I don’t want to fill his head with the unknowns. But the fact that he’s here, with his supersonic hearing, in a house with few doors, makes me a little nervous. I’m not much of a phone talker, but over the last few days, I’ve come to rely on my morning conversations with my mother and my friends. Not today. Today this little house will have to be a cancer-free zone.

And maybe that’s okay. We had a dusting of snow overnight, more flurries expected today. It’s cold. Raw. The perfect kind of day to sit by the tree and watch movies.

It’s often said that the big things, the truly important crazy big things, lend perspective. Don’t sweat the small stuff, they say. What they really should say is this: Appreciate the small things. Know their value, their worth. The small things are the bright shiny beads of a life.

Today I have my sweet boy by my side.

It’s a good day.

Leave a Reply

